Create a blog and a welcoming post.

My name is Larissa and I am a year 1-2 teacher. I work in the inner city of Auckland, New Zealand. I work in a dynamic and collaborative teaching space, more precisely a Modern Learning Environment. (MLE) I am completing my Postgraduate studies @ Mindlab in the areas of Leadership, Digital Technologies, Applied Research and Applied Practice. I will be blogging as part of an assignment requirement, however feel free to comment and add new or similar opinions to my findings.

Teaching is more than a chosen profession. It is a lifelong journey in developing meaningful relationships and knowledge.  Teaching is a commitment to student’s wellbeing, helping them to overcome obstacles whether they are educational or personal.

I am a teacher who gets alongside students, scaffolding their goals and future endeavours.  I am a teacher who uses real life scenarios, which hook the students into authentic learning, creating opportunities so students will enjoy learning.

I see myself as a lighthouse, a steady, consistent, immoveable tower for others; a beacon of light to warn and guide individuals.

Let’s get blogging!